Firing

Just did a stoneware firing today, trudged up to the studio too many times putting the kiln up; checking how it was going etc.  Hopefully it will turn out ok, tried to override the kiln sitter as it under fired it last time. As I am only just getting the hang of this kiln I have a lot to learn how it fires.  Wish I had a raku kiln as well but that’s for the future. In my first firing last week I made a lovely tree pendant, so today while I was waiting I filed the back and hung it on some fine copper wire; and put it around my neck. At dinner time my kiln had finished firing so I came back in the dark to realise I had lost my necklace somewhere during the day. As I have walked up and down all day long,  through long grass and chased ducks and geese it could be anywhere! Have to make another one.

Leave a Reply

