Melanzane Sotto Olio

This year has been our first year where we have had a bumper crop of eggplants. Must have something to do with the warmer weather! So I have had eggplant in nearly every dish lately, but the one I wanted more than anything was Melanzane Sotto Olio that I ate in Napoli while staying there in 1996-97. My travelling companion’s Zia, gave it to us regularly for lunch with chewy Naples bread – delicious. So I contacted my friend and he found out the recipe. I hope it tastes as good as his Zia’s. When we were leaving Napoli to fly home to Australia, she gave us two bottles, and said take them home, its ok!! But we knew we couldn’t take them on the plane so had to reluctantly give them away to the pension owner that we were staying with in Rome. Photo is a bit blurry…

2 thoughts on “Melanzane Sotto Olio

    • Thanks so much. I will make it your way as it looks pretty easy. I am glad I asked, little did I know you had already done a blog on it!! Hopefully I will make a batch to make Maggi Beer proud.

Leave a Reply

