Copper used as underglaze

Copper used as underglaze

Copper tree and mountain plate

I thought I would try using colours that looked more natural than some of my other brighter pieces for this latest work. So I used 100% copper with water as an underglaze for the design with a chun glaze on top. After the bisque fire I had a terrible feeling that maybe the copper would make the glaze not food safe. So I went to one of the facebook ceramic groups and was given many different opinions on this matter. Some said it was safe others said it wasn’t, others said the whole design would smudge or disappear. In the end the design held up and after a 24hr vinegar test the glaze showed no reaction, meaning my glaze withheld the copper and is food safe! I was thinking I might attach some sort of hook on the back and make it into a wall hanging anyway. Just have to work out how to do that!

 

the plate before firing

Plate unfired

Leave a Reply

