end of Autumn….. nests and new plates.

Nearly all the leaves have fallen off the deciduous  trees in our yard. The Magnolia has only a few left. Walking past today I spied this cute little empty nest just attached with the most delicate of twine. Probably a little honeyeater or wrens nest from last spring.

little bird nest

There are tiny little blue strands of bailing twine in the nest from our hay bales. My mums nests at her house have pink and blue baling twine woven in!

autumn unfired plates 020 (1280x960)

I also made some new plates yesterday out of Stoneware Raku clay.  I didn’t know what to do with them, so I painted on some white slip, and decorated them using sgraffito, with native Australian plants as inspiration. This one is a Hakea.

Hakea plate unfired

This is a Candlestick Banksia. The brown raku clay will fire to a creamy speckled appearance. I don’t know if the iron specks in the clay will come through the white slip? I will wait and see.

Banksia unfired plate

This is another Banksia, front on.

banksia unfired plate

4 thoughts on “end of Autumn….. nests and new plates.

  1. Your nest photographs are lovely, I love how the clever birds have been upcycling with blue twine. I once found a magpie’s nest that had metal coat hangers woven in! You are obviously very inspired by nature, the sgraffito technique you used is perfect for these spiky plant plates, just beautiful….Thank you so much for coming to visit my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

